Make your own free website on

The Milky Way


    1. The Bulge


    1. The Disk


    1. The Halo



The Milky Way, as seen from the Earth (AAO)


The Milky Way is a spiral galaxy, with a central bulge of intermediate size. The disk is composed by 4 spiral arms, being the Sun placed between the arm of Sagittarius and the arm of Perseus. The Milky Way has a diameter of 80 000 light years and an estimated amount of about 200 billion stars. The Sun travels around the Milky Way once every 240 million years.


Return to previous page